Ayade Swears in 28 Commissioners, Takes Charge of ‎Culture & Tourism 

Share On:

Cross River State Governor, Professor Ben Ayade yesterday swore in 28 Commissioners while assigning the Ministry of Culture & Tourism to himself.

The governor, who gave reasons why he chose to expand the state executive council from 13 to 28 at a time the economy is in trouble, charged the commissioners to ‎be creative and dedicated to the task of improving the lot of the people by enthroning a prosperous economy.

While reminding the commissioners to be up and doing in their respective ministries, he said “we are in a challenging time, so let me charge all of you very strongly and firmly too that the philosophy that led to the expansion of this exco creates for you an opportunity to distinguish yourselves.
“We recognise the difficulties and challenges of the times we found ourselves rising to leadership at a point that is almost impossible to run a state. It is only in times like this that true men are tested.”
On the decision to expand the cabinet, he explained: “When government finds it difficult to survive, individuals find it more difficult to survive. It is the time you need to expand government to accommodate all through the challenging times.”
He said the expansion was mainlyon areas of needs, saying it was done based on a deep vision ‎that the ministries will create new investment opportunities and “provide food for our young ones while also providing a platform for them to actualize their dreams.”
He said he expects the new commissioners to “help in the actualization of transforming the socio-economic landscape of this great state.
“Take this as a sacred opportunity and let me also remind you that history beckons and it is watching, and that whatever you do from this little office is what will grow you. Your future is tied to the ambition you start today. Therefore buckle up and engrave a signature that will be unique and stand the test of time. A signature that philosophically drags you towards God’s head and will reflect on your lives.”
The governor charged the commissioners to exhibition high sense of discipline in their official conducts saying, “apply extra prudence, reduce economic miasma and focus on setting targets that you will accomplish. I charge you to recognise the fact the you come from Cross River, a state that is known for class and elegance.”
The commissioners are:  Barr. Joe Abang, Justice, Chief Offu Ebiregor Ayia – ICT, Engr. Dan Osim-Asu.- Works, Hon. Gabe Odu Orji.- Water Resources Hon. George O’ben-Etchi- Solid Minerals, Hon. Francis Etta – Ministry of Int’l Donor Corporation, Mr. Oliver Orok.- Sustainable Development, Hon. Onoh Ulafor – Ministry of Local Govt Affairs and Mrs. Rosemary Archibong – Information & Orientation.
Others are Engr. Mike Eraye – Environment,Victor Adugba Agwu – Special Projects & Special Duties, Prof. Anthony Eneji – Agriculture and Mr. Sunday Achunekang -Rural Transformation, Establishment & Training. Others are Hon. Saviour Nyong – Transport, Dr. Alice Alok Ekwu – Climate Change, Mr. Edem O. Effiom -Social Housing Hon. Godwin Ettah – Education, Barr. Chris Nja -Gas Resources, Mr. Asuquo Ekpenyong – Finance, Mr. Asu Okang -Youths & Sports Development, Mr. George Ekpungu – New City Development, Dr. John Inyang – Lands Development, Mr. Peter Akan Egba – Commerce & Industries Mr. Thomas Udam – Power, Mrs. Stella Ereme Odey – Women Affairs Dr. Inyang Asibong – Health,Hon. Itaya Nyong – Petroleum Resources and Ntufam Edim Inok Edim – Infrastructure.

Share On:


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here