Council Poll: Lawmakers Vote for Removal of Nasarawa Electoral Commission’s Boss, 5 others

Share On:

The Nasarawa State House of Assembly on Tuesday recommended the removal of the Chairman, State Independent Electoral Commission, Dr Abdullahi Modibo and five commissioners.

The motion for the removal of the officials  was moved by Mr Godiya Akwashiki (PDP-Nasarawa Eggon West), under matters of public interest during plenary.

Akwashiki, also the Majority Leader, alleged that Modibo and the commissioners had violated the Local Government Electoral Laws in the March 22 local gcovernment elections.

He alleged that the election was marred by irregularities which necessitated the assembly to summon Modibo and the  commissioners on March 25.

Akwashiki said that despite Modibo’s declaration that the elections in Akwanga, Obi and Nasarawa local governments were inconclusive, the commission could not produce the actual results in the affected areas.

“It is sympathetic that up till date, the NASIEC chairman cannot even announce the results of the three local governments as agreed by him and his commissioners at the floor of the house, ”Akwashiki said.

He called on his colleagues to support his motion for the removal of the commission’s chairman and his five commissioners over alleged misconduct and breached of electoral laws.

READ ALSO  Imperatives for Ultra-Modern Central Secretariat Complex in Asaba

Akwashiki said that the motion was in the best interest of peace, progress and development of the state.

Mr Mohammed Okpede (PDP-Doma North) seconded the motion and urged his colleagues to also support it.

“It is unfortunate that Dr Abdullahi Modibo and his commissioners cannot conduct free, fair and acceptable elections in the state,” Okpede said.

Muluku Ibrahim (PDP – Nassarawa Eggon East), Francis Orogu (PDP-Keana),  Mohammed Ibaku  (PDP-Udege), Nathaniel Agyomesa (APC- Lafia North) and Danladi Jatau (PDP-Kokona West) also agreed that the commission allegedly violated the electoral laws.

The Speaker, Alhaji Ahmed Musa,  however, threw the motion to a vote.

Musa announced that 17 out of 19 lawmakers voted in favour of the motion.

“The clerk of the house is hereby directed to communicate the resolution of the house to the executive governor for the removal of Dr Abdullahi Modibo and his commissioners within 24 hours,’’ he said.


Share On:


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here