Jonathan, Govs, Sultan, Oritsejafor Others in Security Meeting

Share On:

The enlarged National Security Council meeting kicked off at exactly 12.10 p.m. when President Goodluck Jonathan, stepped into the Council Chambers alongside Vice President Namadi Sambo.

Aside the governors of the states, the nation’s security chiefs were all present in a bid to find lasting solution to the current security challenges in the country that has left many killed,  injured, displaced and kidnapped.

The meeting is expected to review the security situation in the country as well as ongoing national security measures and operations with a view to determining the best way forward.

The governors in attendance include, Abia, Adamawa, Anambra, Akwa Ibom, Bayelsa, Bauchi, Benue, Borno, Cross River, Ebonyi, Ekiti, Sokoto,  Kaduna, Kwara,  Taraba, Nasarawa, Kebbi, Niger, , Ondo and  Zamfara states.

The deputy governors of include Jigawa, Kano, Rivers, Yobe, Oyo, Edo, Plateau, Imo and Ogun states.

The two spiritual leaders in attendance were  President of the Supreme Council for Islamic Affairs and Sultan of Sokoto Alhaji Muhammad Sa’ad Abubakar as well as the President of the Christian Association of Nigeria (CAN), Pastor Ayo Oritsejafor.

Others are Secretary to the Government of the Federation Senator Anyim Pius Anyim, Defence Minister Lt.-Gen Aliyu Gusau, National Security Adviser Col. Sambo Dasuki (rtd.), the Chief of Defence Staff Air Chief Marshal Alex Badeh, the service chiefs, Inspector-General of Police Mohammed Abubakar as well as the Directors-General of the State Security Services and the National Intelligence Agency.

Details later…‎

Share On:


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here