NIM Elects New President, Other Principal Officers

Share On:

The Nigerian Institute of Management (Chartered), has elected new principal officers to run its affairs for the next two years with Professor Munzali Jibril,  emerging as the 20th President and Chairman of Council of the Institute.

Also elected were Prof. Olukunle Iyanda, a former Director-General of the Institute, and Mrs. Pat Anabor, a seasoned university administrator and first female Registrar/Chief Executive of the Institute as Deputy President and National Treasurer respectively.
The new President, Prof. Jibril, who has been serving the Institute in various capacities since 2004 holds a Bachelor of Arts degree (B.A.) from Ahmadu Bello University, Zaria; Master of Arts (M.A.) from the University of Leeds, United Kingdom and a doctorate degree (Ph.D) from the University of Lancaster, United Kingdom with over forty years of professional and managerial experiences.

Prof Jibril’s pedigree as a thoroughbred seasoned and tested professional and academic is not in doubt as he has distinguished himself at the top having successfully managed and turned around the fortune of many educational institutions, government agencies and commissions. A onetime Coordinator, Police Academy, Wudil, who is credited with converting the academy to a degree-awarding institution and being instrumental to the establishment of Umaru Yar’Adua University, Katsina, has held many other public offices at both his home State of Kano and at the centre. These include but are not limited to Chairman, Board of Directors, Triumph Publishing Company, Kano; Chairman, National Planning Committee for Gifted Education; Chairman of Council, of both the Centre for Management Development (CMD) and the Nigerian Institute of Social and Economic Research (NISER); Member, Kano State Flood Disaster Relief Committee; Consultant to the World Bank on Secondary Education in Nigeria; Member, Committee of Deans of Postgraduate Schools in Nigerian Universities and Member, Presidential Advisory Committee, Abuja.

A widely travelled personality, he has attended over 100 Conferences, Workshops and Seminars in Nigeria, Ghana, Senegal, Zambia, Tanzania, Kenya, South Africa, Burkina Faso, Ethiopia, Algeria, Egypt, the United Kingdom, Germany, France, Switzerland, Bermuda, Canada, the United States of America and other parts of Europe, including attending major Association of African Universities and UNESCO conferences on higher education, often as part of Nigeria’s delegation.

He is also a distinguished consultant of repute having consulted variously for Universal Basic Education Commission (UBEC),  National Commission for Colleges of Education, National Teachers’ Institute, Kaduna, Nigerian Deposit Insurance Commission (NDIC), National Board for Technical Education (NBTE), Nigeria’s House of Representatives, Etisalat Nigeria, Economic Community of West African States (ECOWAS), Arab Bank for Economic Development in Africa (BADEA), the British Council, United Nations Education, Scientific and Cultural Organisation (UNESCO) and the World Bank among others.

This renowned scholar and internationally acclaimed academic who represented Nigerian Academy of Letters in the 2014 National Conference at Abuja became Emeritus Professor of the Bayero University, Kano, in May 2015.

An Honorary Fellow of the Mathematical Association of Nigeria and the Nigerian Institute of Public Relations as well as a Fellow of the Nigerian Academy of Letters, Emeritus Prof. Jibril was conferred the title of Officer of the Federal Republic (OFR) by the Federal Government of Nigeria in 1999.

According to a statement signed by the acting Registrar/Chief Executive of the Institute, Mr Anthony Fadaka, the investiture of the new President and Chairman of Council which will be witnessed by members of the Institute, representatives of other professional bodies, government and corporate bodies will take place at a colourful ceremony on Thursday, December 10, 2015 at Civic Centre, Victoria Island, Lagos at 11am.

Share On:



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here