Obaseki Celebrates Dame Uzamere at 60

*R-L: Edo State Governor, Mr. Godwin Obaseki; his wife, Mrs. Betsy Obaseki; celebrant, Dame Iriagbonse Joy Uzamere; and Former Senator representing Edo South Senatorial District, Senator Ehigie Uzamere; at the the 60th birthday celebration of Dame Iriagbonse Joy Uzamere, in Benin City, on Saturday, June 19, 2021.
Share On:

*Extols her exemplary life


*By Ogochukwu Isioma

The Edo State Governor, Mr. Godwin Obaseki, on Saturday, led other top government functionaries to the 60th birthday celebration of Dame Iriagbonse Joy Uzamere, at St. Matthew’s Cathedral in Benin City.

Dame Iriagbonse Joy Uzamere is the mother of the immediate past Chief of Staff to the Governor, Mr. Osaze Ethan Uzamere.

Obaseki described the celebrant as a virtuous woman who always delivered on her designated assignments.

According to him, “She’s a pillar, not only in her family but also in the church and in the community. And whatever assignment she’s been asked to do, she has always done it to the best of her ability.

“She has made herself a standard for excellence: As a teacher, she has groomed many lives, and as a mother, she has produced very successful children.

“As a community leader, she continues to give so much back to the community, the church and to the society at large.”

The governor added, “So, we thank God for her life and that is why we are here to celebrate her and encourage her to continue to be who she is and what she is to all of us. We pray God gives her a long life, happiness and good health.”

In the homily, the officiating Priest, Rt. Rev. Dr. Peter Imasuen, described the celebrant as a woman with focus, who carries out all assignments given to her diligently.

Imasuen said Dame Iriagbonse Joy Uzamere is a gift to mankind and her family.

Other dignitaries at the event are wife of Edo Governor, Mrs. Besty Obaseki; immediate past chief judge, Edo State, Esther Edigin; Sen. Matthew Urhoghide; Edo State head of service, Anthony Okungbowa and former chairman, Edo All Progressives Congress (APC), Anselm Ojezua, among others.


Share On:


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here