Okowa Upgrades College of Education Agbor  to University    •Ozoropoly,  Anwai too

Share On:
By Andrew Ikehi in Agbor
Determined to meet the increasing quest for higher education by its citizens, the Delta State Government is already firming up plans for the establishment of three additional Universities in the State.
This is coming as the State Governor, Senator Ifeanyi Okowa,  Tuesday sent three Bills to that effect to the State House of Assembly for necessary legislative actions.
A letter conveying the three bills to the State Legislature by the State Governor was read at Tuesday’s resumed plenary of the House by the Speaker, Rt Hon Sherrif Oborevwori.Governor Okowa in the letter said the proposed laws are to upgrade three existing higher Institutions in the state to the Status of Universities.

The institutions according to the Governor include; College of Education Agbor, to Delta State University of Education, Agbor, Delta State University, Anwai Campus, to Delta State University of Science and Agriculture, Anwai and Delta State Polytechnic Ozoro, to Delta State University of Science and Technology, Ozoro.

READ ALSO  Grief, Tributes as Nigerian Media Icon, Tony Momoh, Dies at 81

Governor Okowa stated that the move was as a result of continuous increase in the number of Deltans jostling for space into the few existing universities due to increase in the number of persoons seeking University admission.

He further stated that the decision was also to meet up with the federal government decision to upgrade educational and technical education in the country by having degree awarding institutions in these areas.

The Deputy Majority Leader, Hon Oboro Preyor in a motion, moved for the House to receive the three bills for further legislative process.

The first reading of the bills has been slated for Wednesday, 28th January 2021.

Share On:


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here