Sokoto Assembly Gets New Principal Officers

Share On:

By Muhammad Nasir Bello

The Sokoto State House of Assembly has got new principal officers to serve as leaders in the 9th Assembly.

The News Agency of Nigeria (NAN) reports that names of the leaders were forwarded to the Assembly in seperate letters by the All Progrrssives Congress (APC) and Peoples Democratic Party (PDP).

The Speaker, Alhaji Aminu Achida, while presenting the letters at plenary on Thursday, called on the new principal officers to ensure the success of the Assembly for the overall development of the state.

NAN reports that APC presented Alhaji Bello Ambarura (APC- Illela) and Alhaji Abdullahi Zakari (APC- Rabah), as Majority Leader and Deputy Majority Leader respectively.

Others are; Alhaji Aminu Bodai (APC- Dange/Shuni) and Alhaji Murtala Bello (APC- Wamakko), as Majority Whip and Deputy Majority Whip respectively.

On its part, the PDP presented Alhaji Ibrahim Sarki (PDP- Sokoto North II) and Alhaji Atiku Liman (PDP- Silame), as Minority Leader and Deputy Minority Leader respectively.

Others are; Alhaji Habibu Modachi (PDP- Isa) and Alhaji Abdullahi Randa (PDP- Tureta), as Minority Whip and Deputy Minority Whip respectively.

Meanwhile, the Assembly has passed a motion asking the state government to rehabilitate the link road to Sabon Birni Local Government Area and reconstruct Birjingo Bridge in Goronyo Local Government Area.

The motion was jointly sponsored by Aminu Almustapha (PDP – Sabon Birni North) and Alhaji Faruku Amadu (APC- Goronyo). 


Share On:


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here